Tui or Parson Bird Prosthemadera Novae Zealandiae. From: 'A history of the birds of New Zealand' by Walter Lawry Buller
ourheritage.ac.nz | OUR Heritage

Search using this query type:



Search only these record types:

Item
Collection
Simple Page

Advanced Search (Items only)

‘Barnaby Rudge’, in Master Humphrey’s Clock.



Files

Creator

Date

1840-1841

Identifier

Special Collections de Beer Eb 1840 D

Publisher

London: Chapman and Hall

Abstract

Barnaby Rudge, Dickens’s fifth novel, centred round the Gordon ‘No Popery’ Riots of 1780 and the murder of Reuben Haredale. Originally planned to be his first novel and entitled Gabriel Varden, the Locksmith of London, it was put aside because of the success of Pickwick. An historical novel in the tradition of Sir Walter Scott, Barnaby Rudge first appeared in serial form in Master Humphrey’s Clock from February to November 1841. Maria Beadnell, Dickens’s first love, was the original of the flirtatious Dolly Varden.

[Chapter the First from Charles Dickens's ‘Barnaby Rudge’, in Master Humphrey’s Clock. 1st edition. Vol. II.]

Citation

Charles Dickens, “‘Barnaby Rudge’, in Master Humphrey’s Clock. ,” ourheritage.ac.nz | OUR Heritage, accessed December 14, 2019, http://ourheritage.ac.nz/items/show/7114.

Item Relations

This item has no relations.

Share this page